Skip to main content

OTC’s Arctic Technology Conference Awards

Published by
Oilfield Technology,

The Arctic Technology Conference (ATC) awarded its 2015 Spotlight on Arctic Technology Awards at the Comwell Convention Centre (Bella Center) in Copenhagen, Denmark to two companies that have made innovative contributions to Arctic exploration and production.

Chuck Richards, chair of the ATC Oversight Committee, presented the awards to Ovako for its SZ-Steel® and to Viking Supply Ships for its Bulbous bow ice-breaking design.

Now in its fourth year, ATC brings together Arctic industry leaders and professionals from around the globe. It is the world’s most focused comprehensive technical conference and exhibition for Arctic E&P professionals.

SZ-Steel®, one of five Ovako attribute brands, is a family of steel grades with low impurity levels and controlled grain size that is well proven and tested to hold key properties in sub-zero conditions. The sub-zero steels reduce risks of embrittlement and fracturing. The result is safer and more reliable performances in temperatures beneath -40 °C, and many of the steels are tested to withstand temperatures down to -100 °C and lower.

Accepting the award on behalf of Ovako was Goran Nystrom, Executive Vice President of Marketing and Technology.

Viking Supply Ships work to prove the bulbous bow's abilities to break ice in light/moderate ice conditions – and thus expand the vessel class’ operational area – was first tested in 2013. Its technology is based on bending the ice upward with the bulb, opposite of the normal crushing technique used by a conventional ice-breaker bow.

Test results clearly demonstrated the ability of using bulbous bow for ice-breaking in light/moderate ice conditions, which can give operators great advantage in open water operators.

Accepting the award on behalf of Viking Supply Ships was Andreás Kjoel, Project Director and Lars Holmberg, Technical Director.

The awards were presented on 23 March at 17:00 at the ATC on Ice Reception sponsored by the Government of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland. Taking the stage were, Andre’ Francois Giroux, Canada’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark, and The Honorable Darin King, Minister of the Department of Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development, who thanked attendees and invited all to attend ATC 2016, set 24-26 October in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.

Modelled after the OTC Spotlight on Technology Awards Program, these awards shine the spotlight on the latest innovations in the Arctic E&P industry. A panel of qualified E&P professionals reviewed entries from Arctic Technology Conference 2015 exhibitors and selected the technologies that best matched the criteria set forth for the program.

Adapted from press release by Joseph Green

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):