Skip to main content

4th annual Decom Awards recognise ‘very best’ in sector activity

Published by , Editor
Oilfield Technology,

The winners of the Decom Awards 2021 were announced week commencing 17 May 2021, in an online event which rounded off Decom North Sea’s (DNS) inaugural Decom Week. Now in their fourth year, the awards were created by DNS to celebrate excellence across a number of areas in the decommissioning sector, with 2021’s categories including collaboration, technical innovation and the next generation of talent.

Fraser Moonie, Decom North Sea CEO, commented: “The calibre of finalists across each category has been outstanding this year, leading to some difficult decision making amongst the panel. Each and every winner has displayed phenomenal levels of commitment, to the undoubted benefit of the sector in the months and years to come.”

This year’s winners are:

Excellence in Collaboration: Petrofac, Awilco and Halliburton – for an industry-first, shared risk collaboration on a full well services scope for Hess’ Rubie Rennie decommissioning programme. Completed on time, on budget and with zero safety incidents, the project has been recognised for its outstanding levels of technical and commercial collaboration.

Technical Innovation in Decommissioning: BiSN – for its Wellok M2M STC (seal through casing) tool which utilises thermite heat ignition and a rapid solidification process of bismuth alloy to provide a V0-rated, gas-tight seal which can decrease the HSE exposure and environmental impact of conventional operations.

Rising Star in Decommissioning: Lindsay Wylie, Project Manager at Aubin, for her involvement in a number of projects at the cutting edge of well abandonment technology, including Xclude, Aubin’s new reservoir barrier technology.

Decom North Sea Member: Heerema Marine Contractors, in recognition of its work in removing 85 277 t of decommissioned structures in one year, the most to be removed within 12 months by any single contractor.

Member of the judging panel and Decom North Sea Chair, Jinda Nelson, added: “The Decom Awards were created to recognise some of the very best work within our sector, and this year we have seen some incredible examples to inspire and motivate. From Lindsay Wylie, our Rising Star, to the companies recognised for their collaborative skills, technical innovation and sheer hard work, we are incredibly proud of this year’s winners and finalists.”

Decom Awards 2021: Winners and finalists

Excellence in Collaboration Award.


  • Petrofac, Awilco and Halliburton.


  • Thompsons of Prudhoe and Port of Blyth.
  • J+S Subsea and John Lawrie.

Rising Star in Decommissioning Award


  • Lindsay Wylie, Aubin Group.


  • Brian Willis, Astrimar.
  • Aaron Tung, University of Aberdeen and Curtin University.

Technical Innovation in Decommissioning Award


  • BiSN.


  • Heerema Marine Contractors.
  • Baker Hughes.

Decom North Sea Member Award.


  • Heerema Marine Contractors.


  • CessCon Decom.
  • Unasys.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):