Skip to main content

Woodside appoints non-executive director

Published by
Oilfield Technology,

The Board of Woodside has appointed Mr Ian Macfarlane as a non-executive director effective 14 November 2016. Mr Macfarlane joins Woodside as an independent director.

Woodside Chairman Michael Chaney said that Mr Macfarlane was Australia’s longest serving FederalResources and Energy Minister and the Coalition’s longest serving Federal Industry and Innovation Minister with over 14 years of experience in both Cabinet and shadow ministerial positions.

“Mr Macfarlane is held in high regard in the Australian resources industry and brings a wealth of relevant experience to the Woodside Board,” Mr Chaney said.

On 15 February 2016 Mr Macfarlane announced his retirement from Australian politics. He has served as a Cabinet Minister covering the business portfolios with a focus on Australia’s resources, energy, agribusiness, science and innovation, and manufacturing and industry sectors. Before entering politics, Mr Macfarlane’s experience included farming, and being President of the Queensland Graingrowers Association (1991-1998) and President of the Grains Council of Australia (1994-1996).

Mr Macfarlane has recently been appointed the Chief Executive of the Queensland Resources Council. He is also the Chairman of the Innovative Manufacturing Co-operative Research Centre and a member of the Toowoomba Community Advisory Committee of the University of Queensland Rural Clinical School.

Read the article online at:

You might also like

Senex to invest US$1 billion to boost to the natural gas industry

The Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association (APPEA) welcomed Senex’s major expansion of its Atlas and Roma North natural gas developments in Queensland’s Surat Basin, lifting natural gas production to 60 petajoules (PJ) per year.


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Oil & gas news