Skip to main content

Trelleborg nominated for industry innovation award

Published by
Oilfield Technology,

Trelleborg Sealing Solutions’ “constant determination” to push the boundaries has been recognised after being shortlisted for a prestigious industry award.

The world leader in engineered polymer solutions developed the cutting-edge process SealWelding™ - technology which is in line to scoop an Innovation Award at the four day ONS Conference starting on August 29.

The nomination comes off the back of an industry award win at the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) in Texas in May.

The pioneering technology was named the winner of the Marine Construction category at the MEA Awards, which are judged by an independent team of experts within the industry.

David Brown, Global Lead Group Director, Oil and Gas, Trelleborg Sealing Solutions, says: “As a global leader in engineered solutions that seal, damp and protect, we are honoured to have our constant determination recognised on the nomination list and if we were to win at the ONS Conference it would be a testament to how hard all the team have worked on the pioneering project.

“We firmly believe our SealWelding technology is revolutionary as it enables seals to be welded in situ on an FPSO platform. This eliminates the need for the oil and gas vessel to disconnect and return to shore. Operators are now benefitting from the enormous cost and time savings our pioneering technology has introduced.”

Trelleborg’s patented SealWelding technology is unique because it allows swivel stack seals to be replaced whilst the platform remains in operation.

The seals are manufactured from Trelleborg’s well-established proprietary material, Turcon®, ensuring full offshore industry compliancy and reliability for the operator.

The new technology will massively reduce the downtime and associated costs that come from maintaining an FPSO swivel stack.

The first Innovation Award was presented in 1982 and it was introduced to recognize the crucial importance of cutting-edge products and solutions in the oil, gas and energy industry.

The main objective of the ONS Innovation Awards is to promote efforts to improve current solutions and to come up with new answers at all stages of the value chain.

The winners of the prize will be determined by a panel of judges who are made up industry experts, research and development professionals and top executives.

The ONS Conference is a four day event, which starts on August 1 in Stavanger, Norway. The main event brings together the key players in the international oil and gas industry and ministers and officials from oil and gas producing countries.

The aim is to have the decision makers present when major international issues are discussed and to facilitate knowledge sharing and collaboration across the global energy industry.

Adapted from a press release by David Bizley

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Oil & gas news