Skip to main content

Winners announced for the 2016 Offshore Achievement Awards

Published by
Oilfield Technology,

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section last night (17 March, 2016) announced the winners of the 30th Offshore Achievement Awards, with Dan Purkis of Well-SENSE Technology collecting the prestigious Significant Contribution accolade.

Tendeka and Well-Centric were named Great Large and Great Small Companies respectively, whilst Interventek Subsea Engineering, Darcy, N-Sea, CETCO Energy Services, TWMA, Peterson and Aker Solutions completed the list of companies collecting awards on the night.

Individual awards were presented to Hayley Pearson of Costain, who was named Young Professional, and to Allan Smillie of TAQA who received the Above & Beyond trophy.

The awards, which are supported by principal sponsor TAQA, took place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. Television presenter Rachel Riley hosted the awards for a second consecutive year, with an audience of more than 500 industry professionals attending.

Alan Dick of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “Last night’s ceremony paid testament to the fact that there is still much to celebrate in the North Sea’s offshore industry.

“We were particularly enthused by the creativity and range of companies named as finalists and winners, representative of the industry’s full supply chain. It has been encouraging to hear from specialist technology providers, focused on research, development and innovation, through to the multinationals which are supporting E&P activity on a global scale.

“This year’s Offshore Achievement Awards have been a much-needed injection of energy for the industry, reminding all of us that by continuing to innovate, collaborate and communicate, we can remain confident in the long term future of North Sea oil and gas.”

Significant Contribution winner Dan Purkis was recognised for a career spanning 20 years, and an interest in engineering which began much earlier. An inventor at heart, Dan has led world-class design teams, pioneered the world’s first intelligent completion and has played a critical role in developing intellectual property for some of the world’s best-known oil and gas service companies.

After collecting his award, he said: “I’m incredibly honoured and humbled to be recognised for this award, which is in no small part down to the inspirational and motivated teams I have been part of, worked with and led, throughout my career.

“Enthusiasm, passion, and always questioning if there’s a better way are the keys to successful innovation. In a low oil price environment there has never been a better time to introduce new technology. It does however require the right industry support and an acceptance that no significant changes can be made if a risk averse attitude prevails.”

A special award was also presented to Trevor Garlick by organisers SPE Aberdeen, in recognition of his long term support of SPE and all it stands for, in terms of professional development, outreach to young people and communicating the industry to the wider public.

Mr Garlick said: “I am very grateful to SPE Aberdeen for this award. I would also acknowledge the Institute of Petroleum Engineering at Heriot Watt for inspiring me to become a petroleum engineer in the first place!

“The local SPE membership has a critical role to play in the North Sea recovery. There is an urgent need for the petroleum engineering community to come together to help make this basin more competitive.

“SPE can encourage the innovation in behaviours, technology and design and make them more fit for a mature basin. Although there will be a necessary reduction in employment, SPE can help sustain the key skills we need here and help export our late-life expertise overseas.

“2016 will be tough and SPE has a critical role mobilising the petroleum engineering community behind these challenges to support the basin. The barrels are still out there!”

The 2016 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:

Emerging Technology Awards - Sponsored by Nexen

WINNER – Interventek Subsea Engineering

Innovator Award - Sponsored by Oil & Gas Innovation Centre

WINNER – Darcy

Safety Innovations Award - Sponsored by Met Office


Environmental Innovation Award - Sponsored by TWMA

WINNER – CETCO Energy Services

Export Achievement Award


Collaboration Award - Sponsored by Marks & Clerk

WINNER – Peterson

Outstanding Skills Development Programme Award - Sponsored by Robert Gordon University 

WINNER – Aker Solutions

Young Professional Award - Sponsored by Aberdeen Institute of Energy

WINNER – Hayleigh Pearson, Costain

Above & Beyond Award

WINNER – Allan Smillie, TAQA

Great Small Company Award - Sponsored by Wood Group PSN

WINNER – Well-Centric

Great Large Company Award - Sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership

WINNER – Tendeka

Significant Contribution Award - Sponsored by Aker Solutions

WINNER – Dan Purkis, Well-SENSE Technology

SPE Special Recognition Award

WINNER - Trevor Garlick

Adapted from a press release by David Bizley

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):